Photo Credit: Annette Lamb

BIO Dr. Allen McCullough, b.1978, is an award-winning composer currently on the music faculty at Purdue University in West Lafayette, IN. He has composed extensively for the piano, for voice, and has several entries in the string quartet genre; he has also written for full orchestra he has composed both a concerto for piano and orchestra, and a symphony in five movements. He has been commissioned by Chamber Music Yellow Springs, the Eakins Vocal Consort of Philadelphia, and the Lotte Lehman Foundation; he has procured grants from the Indiana Arts Commission and the National Endowment for the Arts, among other organizations. He has collaborated with internationally recognized artists and ensembles, including Yekwon Sunwoo pianist and 2017 Van Cliburn gold medalist, Josef Spacek violin soloist and concertmaster of the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, the Aeolus and Harlem String Quartets, among others. He has earned three post-graduate degrees in musical composition, with his terminal degree (Ph.D.) in composition from the University of Pennsylvania.

NOTABLE & RECENT COMMISSIONS/COLLABORATIONS Piano Sonata No.2 (c.2016) | Composed for Dr. Matt Bengtson (www.mattbengtson.com) Assistant Professor of Music (keyboard), University of Michigan | Premiered February 19 2017, Purdue University String Quartet No.3 (c.2015) | Composed for the Aeolus Quartet (www.aeolusquartet.com) | Premiered Dec.7, 2015, Purdue University The Blue Symphony (a song cycle; c.2014) | Mvt. II Commissioned by the Lotte Lehman Foundation (2007) | Composed for Dr. Anne Jennifer Nash, Assistant Professor of Voice, Concordia College | Premiered February 6, 2016, Concordia College (Christiansen Recital Hall complete cycle) with Stephen Sulich, piano (www.stephensulich.com) Edgar Allan Poe Song Cycle (c.2004; rev.2007) | Composed for Dr. Robin Rice, Associate Professor of Voice, The Ohio State University | Premiered by Dr. Jonathan Lasch, (www.uzanartists.com/portfolio/jonathan-lasch/) Music Faculty Wayne State University, February 6, 2016, Concordia College with Stephen Sulich, piano String Quartet No.2 (c.2012) | Commissioned by Chamber Music Yellow Springs (2012) | Composed for the Daedalus Quartet (www.daedalusquartet.com) | Premiered by the Aeolus Quartet April 14, 2013, Yellow Springs, OH String Quartet No.1 (c.2004) | Premiered by the Harlem Quartet (Mvt.III), (www.harlemquartet.com) March 17, 2012 Antioch University Legends and Tales (c. 2010) for solo piano | Composed for Elizabeth Pridgen, (Piano Chair McDuffie Center for Strings; Artistic Director Atlanta Chamber Players) | Premiered November 16, 2010, Mercer University Choir Book 1: Requiems (c.2007) | Commissioned by the Eakins Vocal Consort of Philadelphia - Tim Ribchester, director (www.timribchester.com) | Premiered 2007, (selected movements performed in multiple venues) Philadelphia, PA Winter Sketches (for solo piano; c.2002) | Premiered by Yekown Sunwoo (Gold Medalist, the Van Cliburn Competition 2017) November 16, 2008

LINKS TO RECORDINGS > Piano Sonata No.2 https://soundcloud.com/allen-mccullough-951288679/piano-sonata-2 Matt Bengston, piano > String Quartet No.3 https://soundcloud.com/allen-mccullough-951288679/string-quartet-no3 The Aeolus Quartet > String Quartet No.2 https://soundcloud.com/allen-mccullough-951288679/string-quartet-no2 The Aeolus Quartet > The Blue Symphony https://soundcloud.com/allen-mccullough-951288679/the-blue-symphony Anne Jennifer Nash, soprano; Stephen Sulich, piano > 12 Preludes for Piano https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqBMPhTKxXA David Henry, piano > The Way Home and Other Songs for High Voice (poetic text by Franz Kafka) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ReuOXQ72lv4 Helen Allen, soprano; Elizabeth Pridgen, piano > Legends and Tales (for solo piano) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tnU1m1d5Bog Elizabeth Pridgen, piano

Compositions

String Quartet No.3, Movement 1


PDF score

The Aeolus Quartet; Premiered Dec.7, 2015 - Black Cultural Center, Purdue University


The Boy Who Cried: "Wolf!"


PDF score

Elizabeth Pridgen, Piano; Recorded November 16, 2010 - Fickling Hall, Mercer University. Movement II from the piano suite "Legends and Tales" (C.2010)


Piano Concerto No.1 - III


PDF score

Matt Bengston, piano; Sarah Hicks conducts the Curtis Orchestra (reading session) April 1, 2009 - The Curtis Institute of Music


The Blue Symphony: II


PDF score

"Through The Upland Meadows": from The Blue Symphony (mvt.II; C.2008) Helen Allen, soprano; Elizabeth Pridgen, piano Recorded March 20, 2012 - Fickling Hall, Mercer University