...dedicated to the promotion of composition, performance, understanding and dissemination of new and contemporary music...

2015 SCI/ASCAP Student Commission Competition

SCI, in conjunction with ASCAP, announces the fifteenth in a series of annual commissions to be awarded to two student composers. This year, one first prize will be awarded to an undergraduate or high school student composer and one first prize to a graduate student composer. Their music will be subsequently premiered at an SCI Conference and, if qualifying, a recording of the work will be included on the SCI CD Series.

Undergraduate Division & High School

Composers can be of any age and nationality, but they must be either a student enrolled as an undergraduate student in a college or universitycomposition degree program, high school, or studying privately with a recognized professional composer.

Graduate Division

Composers can be of any age and nationality, but they must be either a student enrolled as a graduate student in a college or university composition degree program. Composers holding a D.M.A. or Ph.D. are not eligible to enter the contest.

To Qualify

All entrants must be SCI members (student members or student chapter members) at the time of submission. The student rate is $35 per year. If your institution has an SCI student chapter, then annual dues are $25. Join SCI at www.societyofcomposers.org/join.

To Apply

Receipt Deadline: March 1, 2015 ** EXTENDED : MARCH 8, 2015 **

For additional information or questions, contact the contest coordinator, Mark Phillips, atsci.ascap@gmail.com.

For more information on Student Chapters,visit this page.

Prize Details

Previous Winners

2014 Eric Fegan and Texu Kim

2013 Bin Li and Duncan Schouten

2012 Shen Yiwen and Elizabeth Nonemaker

2011 Eric Guinivan and Elliot Cless

2010 Andres Carrizo and Gilad Cohen

2009 Douglas Pew and Peiying Yuan

2008 Eric Nathan, Clint Needham, Josť-Luis Hurtado

2007 Jeremy Podgursky, Kryzysztof Wolek, and Ashley Fure

2006 Maxwell Dulaney, Carolyn O’Brien, Erin Gee, and Hermes Camacho

2005 Matt Tommasini, Eric Lindsay, Andrew Norman, and Jay Wadley

2004 Grace Choi, Douglas O'Grady, and Carl Schimmel

2003 Orianna Webb, Jeff Myers, and Dimitri Papageorgiou

2002 Jennifer Walshe, Geof Holbrook, and Mark Volker

2001 Ceiri Torjussen, Moiya Callahan, and Mei-Fang Lin

2000 Lansing McLoskey, Karim Al-Zand, and Ching-chu Hu