the music of Samuel Pellman

I am a composer of electro-acoustic music inspired by the accomplishments and promise of the exploration of space, which has begun during my lifetime.

Much of my music manifests my interest in micro-tonality, primarily just intonation but also non-standard equal temperaments.

I also compose music for church. And occasionally I write a little chamber music.

Recent Works

Selected Nebulae, a set of seven brief electro-acoustic works in surround sound, with video by Miranda Raimondi.

The Creation, for SATB chorus and organ, commissioned by the Choral Union of the First United Methodist Church of Ft. Worth.

Selected Planets, a set of nine electro-acoustic works, with video by Lauren Koss.

For further information, sound clips, pdfs, etc., visit my website at

Samuel Pellman has been creating electro-acoustic and microtonal music for nearly four decades. Many of his works can be heard on recordings by the Musical Heritage Society, Move Records, innova recordings, and Ravello Records. Recently his music has been presented at festivals and conferences in Melbourne, Paris, Basel, Vienna, Montreal, New York City, Beijing, Capetown, Buenos Aires, Taiwan, Perth, and Prague. He is also the author of An Introduction to the Creation of Electroacoustic Music, a widely-used textbook. He teaches music theory and composition at Hamilton College, in Clinton, NY, and is co-director of its Studio for Transmedia Arts and Related Studies (STARS). Further information about his music can be found at .


Peculiar Galaxies: NGC 4038/4039
This is a piece from my "Peculiar Galaxies" suite. The pitches are based on a 5-limit just-intonation scale that is friendly to both quartal and tertian harmonies.
PeculiarGalaxies: UGC 4881
a digital emulation (on a Kyma system) of woodwind multiphonics ("kymultiphonix!")
One Small Step One Giant Leap
a micro-tonal piece, based on a scale comprised of 20 equal divisions of the perfect fifth. Major and minor thirds (and, of course, perfect fifths) are very pure in this scale, which facilitates the use of very lovely tertian harmonies.
Lament for a Paradise Lost
for solo oboe
This work was commissioned in 2012 by Hamilton College and included among the items in a time capsule to be opened during the College's tricentennial celebration, in 2112. It occurred to me that the Hamiltonians of the next century might have mixed feelings for us, given the abuses of the natural environment by the people of the early twenty-first century and our unwillingness to bear the external costs associated with our energy appetites.
For a video of a recent performance: