Richard A. Crosby


Professor of Piano and Music History Eastern Kentucky University since 1986

BM, MM and DMA from the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

Published works: Sonata for Trombone and Piano (ITA Manuscript Press) Appalachian Variations for band (TRN Music Publisher) By The Waters of Memory for piano and also arranged for cello and piano (Prairie Dawg Press) A Walt Whitman Portrait for band and chorus (Northeastern Music Publications) Sonata for Viola and Piano (Prairie Dawg Press) Trumpet Concerto, available with piano, string orchestra or band accompaniment (Prairie Dawg Press) Variations Op. 13 for piano solo (Prairie Dawg Press) Flouish for Organ (Prairie Dawg Press)


Sonata for Viola and Piano
This is a 3-movement tonal work. The first movement is an Allegro in sonata form, the 2nd is in ABA form with dark, lyrical A sections surrounding a folk-like B section, and the 3rd is frantic/energetic in compound duple. The attached file is the slow movement
A Walt Whitman Portrait I; Beat! Beat! Drums!
This is the first movement of a large-scale setting of 3 poems by Walt Whitman for mixed chorus and band. The other two are "Old War Dreams" and "For You, O Democracy."
Concerto in Bb for Trumpet II (band version)
This is the slow movement of my Trumpet Concerto played on Fluegel Horn (band version.) It is also available for String Orchestra, Full Orchestra and in piano reduction
Concerto in Bb for Trumpet III (band version)
This is the finale of the trumpet concerto. As with works from the Classical era, the final movement was usually the most lighthearted of the three, and this is no exception. It even features a section reminiscent of a polka. The conclusion is a real barn burner.