Biography: Francesco Sclafani (b. 1994) is an active composer and clarinetist that lives in Saint Petersburg, Florida. He is pursuing a B.M. in composition from the University of South Florida in Tampa, where his works are regularly performed. He is taught by Dr. Baljinder Sekhon and Paul Reller for composition. His previous composition instructor was Dr. Vernon Taranto, Jr. His works range from solo works to large ensemble works, including electronic compositions. He was selected as one of the winners of the Vox Novus Fifteen-Minutes-of-Fame competition for his solo guitar work, Fractal Fingers, performed by Rodrigo Baggio at Jan Hus Church in New York City. He was one of two winners selected from the Annual Composition Competition held by The Florida Orchestra. He was selected as a winner of the Electronic Music Midwest Festival call for works for his fixed media work, Assimilations.



Timorous Agitation

PDF score

Timorous Agitation was composed for one of the University of South Florida's String Quartets, and was completed in January of 2016. It was premiered February 25th by this ensemble. This piece is based around three different ideas, a heavy, energetic theme, a chorale-like section, and variations on another theme. The material was created using chance-based generation and intuitive composition, and the different ideas were later assembled like a puzzle. In some areas of the piece, the entire quartet functions as one unit, and in other areas each instrument contribute to the entire sound. The piece uses chords built from harmonics, long glissandi that gradually change the color of the chords, and use of double stops, especially in the cello. Not one idea remains for a considerable amount of time, but they return frequently and interrupt each other.

The Reckoning

PDF score

The Reckoning is written for the Pierrot ensemble, and was completed in the spring of 2016. The poem was written by Theodore Roethke. This piece takes motivic ideas and colors around the vocal motives that are the basis of the piece. The piece uses the interval of a minor second throughout the piece.

Deep Echo

PDF score

Deep Echo is composed for solo piano in 2014. It was composed for Qingxi Xu and was performed at the Barness Recital Hall at the University of South Florida in Tampa, Florida. The beginning of the piece creates a serene and almost liquid texture. The harmonic material is used throughout the piece from this beginning section. Sparse notes and empty space are a main element in this part of the piece. The intensity builds after the rhythmically free introduction ends, and continues with intensity all the way to the conclusion of the piece with a much more driving pulse.