Anne McAninch's SCI Webpage

Anne McAninch is a dissertator in the DMA Composition program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where she studies composition with Professor Laura Schwendinger and conducting with Professor Scott Teeple. She received her Masters of Music in Composition from James Madison University, where she studied composition with Eric Guinivan and Jason Haney and bassoon with Susan Barber. Before pursuing her degrees in composition, Anne received her Bachelors in Music in Music Education from West Chester University of Pennsylvania and studied bassoon with Jon Gaarder. She has also taught instrumental music in Washington, DC for nine years. Anne made her collegiate conducting debut when she led the University of Wisconsin-Madison Concert Band in the premiere of her work Silver Lining. Anne has had readings with the JACK Quartet, Del Sol Quartet, the Cygnus Ensemble, and has had performances by acclaimed flutist Emma Resmini. Anne’s compositions have been described as “harmonically interesting” and “rich in orchestral color.” Anne’s work Seven has been selected to be presented at the Society of Composers, Inc. 2018 Region VI convention. Recently, Anne was the guest composer-in-residence at the Caroga Lake Music Festival: InterArts Symposium and had a residency at the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts in Amherst, VA.


Within the Cygnus constellation lies a black hole named X-1, which is where this work is named for. This work is a musical representation of the night sky, constellation, and the black hole. In the first section introduces all the materials for the work with an accompaniment that pushes the work's energy forward like the whirling cosmos. The first section ends with the ensemble collapsing in on itself and slowing leading to a second section that has extreme instrument ranges that highlights the vastness of the dark universe and twinkling stars. As the section evolves, the tension builds to a return to the driving momentum and developing ideas. Recorded by: Megan O'Connell-Flute Zachary Pulse-Oboe Xinyi Jiang-Violin Magdalena Sas- Cello
Silver Lining
Work for Concert Band Recording performed by the University of Wisconsin Concert Band
Work for solo cello performed by Kyle Price
Set of Luminosity
Text by Adam Struble Work for Tenor, Percussion and Harp Tenor- Aaron Agulay Percussion-Henrique Batista Harp-Kelsey Broadwell